My First Curl Festival Experience

 

nakiso-curl-festival

On 8 October 2016, I attended my very first Natural Hair slash Curl Festival.  This was the inaugural Nakiso Curl Festival which was held at Zulu Nyala Country Manor in Fourways, Johannesburg.

I was excited for weeks waiting for this day to come.  The event advertising looked good on “paper” and the itinerary for the day was intriguing to me.  I had planned to spend my entire day there.  They promised superb presenters, empowering talks, great products and an all round great time.

Some names on the line-up included:

  • Brian Warfield – He has over 26 years of experience in the hair care industry both internationally and locally. Brian also launched his new hair care range called Arete (pronounced Ah-re-tey)
  • Donna Nedo – Popular American YouTube Blogger/Vlogger.
  • Faith Seuoe – International award nominated make-up and hairstylist.

I was happy to see that most of the brands that were showcasing their products were local.  Some of the brands that were present included:

and many more.

All the listed brands have Facebook and other social media accounts. Be sure to check them out when you get a chance.

From shampoos to shea butters, trust me when I say that there was a product for EVERY hair type and hair need in that building on that day.

I got to chatting with a number of people, guests and professionals, about hair all around and I must say that I learnt a lot.

The festival wasn’t as perfect as I had imagined it would be, but I wouldn’t have missed it for the anything in the world.  The itinerary could have ran smoother and to be honest, I felt let down in this department.  In the end, it felt like I paid R180 to have access to buy products since the talk times were not really stuck to so most people missed them or didn’t know when or where they were happening.

I ended up spending the whole day there.  I bought some local products that I cannot wait to try and share with you.

It was beautiful to see different people from all walks of life wearing their hair and wanting to know and learn more about it.  People were sharing their experiences and it was nice to be a part of a community of people that have a lot in common.

I really hope their next event will be even better.

I would do it again.

 

Did you attend the Nakiso Curl Fest?  Did you know about it?

Which Curl Fest have you attended before?

Please feel free to share in the comments.

 

Heart

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

