Tired of Transitioning – BC

I wrote this a few weeks back and never posted it.  I thought it was a bit too emotional, but whatever, the point of this blog is to go through my hair journey and that involves emotions.

Here it goes…

Today was wash day.

I laid out my pre-poo mix, my shampoo, my conditioner, my deep conditioner, my shea butter and castor oil to get to do my thang.
I went on with my pre-poo then9 washed my hair.  When I finished and my hair was all clean, I looked at my stringy relaxed ends busy fighting my natural coils.  For the first time, I felt like my old hair was weighing my new curly kinky coily hair down.  This made me so angry. It really annoyed me.

So I got dressed and grabbed my car keys. I drove to a new Candi & Co salon close by and asked for a chop.  My hair was all wet and they didn’t understand why I was asking for a chop with wet hair.  I was too annoyed to explain myself, I ended up snapping at the poor gentleman who was trying to assist me.
He was so patient with me and my fragile wet hair.  He asked me a bunch of small talk questions which honestly helped to calm me down while he was detangling. 
As he began cutting, I felt like a big weight was literally coming off my shoulders. I don’t know why, but I swear that every snip was therapeutic.  All the other stylists couldn’t believe how much hair I was letting him cut off.  I did not care. It had to go.
He finished snipping and rinsed my hair and it curled right back.  My shrinkage flourished, I paid for the trim and went back hone. 


I finished off wash day with my Aunt Jackie Deep Conditioner and LOC’ed with water, shea butter and castor oil.


I didn’t think that I would be done with my transition so soon.  I really liked having the extra length for styling, but I guess I just had enough of the two textures and one of them had to go.


I look forward to embracing the TWA and growing healthy hair.

After the TotalSports 10km run

xxx

Popsie 

Leave a Reply

