Transitioning – Hair

I do not remember the day that I “went natural”. In fact, I cannot say that I chopped off my hair or decided to go “natural”. I was very much a weave girl (I still am. I luuurrrrvvv me some good Brazilian hair) but with the constant straightening of my hair using relaxers, I realised that my hair in front was getting weaker and weaker and it just wasn’t growing as thick or as fast as I wanted it to. So I decided that I’m going to stop relaxing my hair before I cause any more damage. I kept on with my weaves, but I wouldn’t leave any hair out. I’d just get a full weave.

The problem came when I didn’t want to wear a weave. I didn’t know how to take care of my non-relaxed hair and the products that I was using were just killing my hair. Due to my hair being different textures it was difficult to manage so I would just wash it AND get a new weave. This made me feel trapped. That is also when I realised that my hair dresser also didn’t know what to do with my hair because I refused for her to cut it. Like… why you wanna cut my hair? Is it bothering you? No? Then leave it alone, please! Lol

So I had to do the research by myself and figure my own hair out. All I wanted was healthy non-chemically treated hair.

I started googling. Searching on YouTube and most of the vloggers were American. I wanted someone South African so that I would have access to the same products and similar experiences. I then found MissPeaches1000. She didn’t have a lot of videos, but after doing research I found that out of the same frustration that I was experiencing, she created her own product range for black people’s hair. You can get her earthy products on her website earthy.co.za, they look so good and they have good reviews. I personally have not used the products because I find them quite pricey so I continued to do research.

Watching American and South African vloggers I could see common products that were being used so I started sourcing them. Everyone was referring to oils, conditioners and other similar products which were also affordable to me personally.

I am so grateful for online shopping because I was able to access so many products. I also popped into my local Dischem and I started taking care of my hair without a professional’s help. I used people’s experiences to guide me and till today I am doing that.

That’s how I ended up transitioning. As “naturals” call it.

I only learned this “transitioning” term once I started watching the vloggers. I didn’t even know that the term existed.

Today, after well over a year, I am still transitioning. I keep cutting off my relaxed ends bit by bit because I’m not ready to let them go plus they give my ‘fro a little extra length for when I want to wear a cute twist or braid out, to be honest.

I like the way my hair is growing. The more I connect with my hair (be it on wash day or when I’m doing some hairstyle) the more I get to know my hair and I love the process. I love my little curls and coils and I am surprised by how it reacts to products that I never thought were for black people.

I learned that I was kind of on the right track and now I sort of know what I’m doing.  I have my go to vloggers that I love and thanks to them and other research…

I am transitioning & I’m loving my hair

5 thoughts on “Transitioning – Hair

Leave a Reply

